M-Five GmbH Mobility, Futures, Innovation, Economics
Fon: +49 721 824818-90
Fax: +49 721 824818-91

102580 Santa Monica BLVD Los Angeles +3 045 224 33 12

Follow Us on

Scientific Lead – Wolfgang Schade

Scientific Lead –
Wolfgang Schade

M-Five is running its research and consulting projects under the scientific leadership of Dr. Wolfgang Schade. Wolfgang started his scientific career 1997 at the Institute for Economic Policy Research (IWW, today ECON) at the University of Karlsruhe, which is now the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). His research and teaching activities at KIT focussed on the impact assessment of European policies to foster sustainable transport. In 2003/04 he completed his PhD undertaking a model-based study developing and using the ASTRA model for the EU15 Member States and analysing the impacts of various European transport pricing and infrastructure policies related to the TEN-T network. In 2001 he was seconded as a National Expert to the European Commission in Seville, the Institute for Prospective Technological Studies (IPTS) to join a team that analysed the competitiveness and employment impacts of the so-called Lisbon Strategy.


Early in 2005 he joined the Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research (ISI) in Karlsruhe. At ISI he set-up, developed and led the Business Unit Transportation Systems from 2008 until April 2015. Wolfgang extended his economic research by coupled analyses of climate policy and macro-economic analyses, as well as innovation system analysis of the different transport modes developing an approach for sectoral innovation system analysis in transport. His focus was on the strategic impacts of the future Fifth Mode Mobility on the automotive industry. But he also analysed the rail and air transport industries. In greated detail he analysed the business model and potentials of new mobility concepts, in particular car-sharing, bike-sharing and ride-sharing combining these analyses with the changes of the transport system through electric mobility and the role of the emerging digital natives and potentials of big data. His research activities were summarized by the book Seven challenges for the German automotive that he published as lead author.


Nearly a decade Wolfgang was an active member of the Scientific Committee of the World Conference of Transport Research Society (WCTRS) and supported the organisation of their tri-annual conferences in Seoul, Istanbul, Berkeley and Lisbon. He is invited regularly to round tables and expert hearings e.g. at the OECD, at the German Parliament and Lander Parlaiments as well as at the European Parliament. In parallel he is disseminating his research findings at scientific and political conferences at the national and international level (e.g. giving the key note at the German Congress on Innovations in Public Transport in 2013 or the Annual Conference of the Swedish Vehicle Research Programme in 2014). Additionally he is also interested to deliver his findings to broader audiences like at the German Catholic Convention in 2012 or the BMW Guggenheim Lab project in Berlin in 2012.


Since the founding of M-Five Wolfgang has taken the scientific leadership, to continue his research and consulting activities in the fields of mobility and economics. For the academic year 2015/2016 Prof. WolfgangSchade also accepted a visting professorship in the area of European Public Policy Analysis at the College of Europe in Bruges in Belgium.

M-Five GmbH Mobility, Futures, Innovation, Economics
Fon: +49 721 824818-90
Fax: +49 721 824818-91

102580 Santa Monica BLVD Los Angeles +3 045 224 33 12

Follow Us on

Wissenschaftliche Leitung – Wolfgang Schade

Wissenschaftliche Leitung –
Wolfgang Schade

M-Five realisiert seine Projekte mit wissenschaftlichen Methoden unter der Leitung von Dr. rer. pol. Wolfgang Schade. Dr. Schade begann seine wissenschaftliche Karriere 1997 am Institut für Wirtschaftspolitik und Wirtschaftsforschung (damals IWW, heute ECON) an der Universität Karlsruhe (heute KIT). In Forschung und Lehre beschäftigte er sich dort bereits mit den gesamtwirtschaftlichen Wirkungen nachhaltiger und europäischer Verkehrspolitik und promovierte 2003/4 mit einer modellbasierten Analyse zur strategischen Bewertung der europäischen Verkehrspolitik in der er Preis- und Infrastrukturpolitiken untersuchte. In 2001 war er als nationaler Experte abgeordnet an das Forschungsinstitut der Europäischen Kommission in Sevilla (IPTS) zur Untersuchung der Wettbewerbs- und Beschäftigungseffekte der Lissabon-Strategie.


In 2005 wechselte er an das Fraunhofer Institut für System- und Innovationsforschung (ISI) in Karlsruhe, wo er von 2008 bis Anfang 2015 das Geschäftsfeld Verkehrssysteme aufbaute. Dort erweiterte er sein wissenschaftliches Spektrum um die gekoppelte Analyse von Klimapolitik und Gesamtwirtschaft, sowie um die Analyse des Innovationssystem der verschiedenen Verkehrsträger bei der er besonders die strategischen Wirkungen der vernetzten Mobilität auf die Automobilindustrie, aber auch auf die Bahn- und Luftfahrtindustrien untersuchte. Ein besonderes Augenmerk richtete Dr. Schade auf die Potenziale neuer Mobilitätskonzepte wie Car-sharing, Bike-sharing. Ride-sharing in Kombination mit der Elektromobilität und der Digitalisierung der Gesellschaft. Diese Forschungsaktivitäten mündeten z.B. in das unter seiner Leitung veröffentlichte Buch der „Sieben Herausforderungen für die deutsche Automobilindustrie“.


Fast ein Jahrzehnt war Dr. Schade auch aktiv im wissenschaftlichen Komitee der Weltkonferenz für Verkehrsforschung (WCTRS) und unterstützte die Organisation und Ausrichtung der Weltkonferenzen in Seoul, Istanbul, Berkeley und Lissabon. Regelmäßig wird er als Teilnehmer zu runden Tischen und Expertengesprächen eingeladen z.B. durch die OECD, zu Anhörungen im Bundestag, den Landtagen oder im europäischen Parlament. Daneben vermittelt er seine Kenntnisse auch auf Fach- und politischen Konferenzen im In- und Ausland (z.B. als Leitvortrag des ÖPNV-Innovationskongress 2013 oder des schwedischen Forschungsprogrammes zu Fahrzeuginnovationen in 2014) aber auch für ein breiteres Publikum z.B. auf dem Katholikentag 2012 oder dem BMW Guggenheim Lab Projekt in Berlin 2012.


Mit der Gründung von M-Five hat er die wissenschaftliche Leitung übernommen, um dort seine Forschungs- und Beratungstätigkeit im Bereich von Mobilität und Gesamtwirtschaft fortzusetzen. Für das akademische Jahr 2015/16 hat Prof. Wolfgang Schade eine Gastprofessur für das Gebiet der europäischen Politikgestaltung und -analyse am College of Europe in Brügge angetreten.

<\!--LSHIDE--> <\!--\/LSHIDE-->