M-Five GmbH Mobility, Futures, Innovation, Economics
Fon: +49 721 824818-90
Fax: +49 721 824818-91

102580 Santa Monica BLVD Los Angeles +3 045 224 33 12

Follow Us on

Mobility of the Future – Fifth-Mode

Mobility of the Future – Fifth-Mode

Mobility will change drastically over the next 5 to 15 years. New mobility concepts as part of the sharing economy, electric mobility, self-driving vehicles and the climate mitigation efforts and awareness will be drivers of this mobility transition. Globalized big data, urbanisation and motorisation – or even mobilisation – are forming global mega-trends. In Germany and other European countries a fast ageing society provides for another relevant mega-trend. Today about one fifth of Germans is older than 65 years, in about 15 years this group should account for close to one third of the population.

Passenger transport will become truly multi-modal enabling seamless trip chains using different modes by generations that are both multi-modal and digital natives. Vehicles are equipped with a broad range of sensors to scan and understand their environment and to communicate between vehicles and also with the infrastructures. Additional to the conventional modes road, rail, air and water from the perspective of the users there will emerge a new mode: the so-called fifth-mode. As part of the fifth-mode cycling and going by foot will play a greater role for mobility and for the planners.

M-Five experts have proven their competences in fifth-mode projects and analyses of the future of mobility in several studies e.g. on sustainable mobility in Germany (VIVER), on the future of the automotive industry and on economic aspects of sustainable mobility where they also supported to coint the term of a fifth-mode. They combine sound competences in analyses of mobility behaviour and transport policy with understanding of the automotive and other mobility industries and enable to develop new business models for the fifth mode.

M-Five GmbH Mobility, Futures, Innovation, Economics
Fon: +49 721 824818-90
Fax: +49 721 824818-91

102580 Santa Monica BLVD Los Angeles +3 045 224 33 12

Follow Us on

Vernetzte Mobilität – Fifth Mode

Vernetzte Mobilität – Fifth-Mode

Mobilität wird sich in den nächsten 5 bis 15 Jahren grundlegend wandeln. Neue Mobilitätskonzepte, Elektromobilität, autonom fahrende Fahrzeuge und die Erfordernisse des Klimaschutzes im Verkehr sind Treiber dieses Wandels innerhalb des Sektors. Die globale Digitalisierung, Urbanisierung und Motorisierung - oder besser Mobilisierung – bilden zentrale gesellschaftliche Mega-Trends. In Deutschland kommt die schnell alternde Gesellschaft als Faktor hinzu. Heute sind ein Fünftel der Deutschen über 65 Jahre alt; in etwas mehr als einem Jahrzehnt wird sich diese Gruppe auf fast ein Drittel belaufen.



Im Personenverkehr entwickeln sich barrierefreie und intermodale Wegeketten, die von multi-modal geprägten Menschen genutzt werden. Fahrzeuge erkennen ihre Umgebung durch Sensoren und kommunizieren mit anderen Fahrzeugen und der Infrastruktur. Neben den klassischen Verkehrsträgern Straße, Schiene, Luft und Wasser entsteht so aus Nutzersicht als fünfter Verkehrsträger der sogenannte Fifth-Mode. Auch zu Fuß gehen und Rad fahren spielen eine zunehmend größere Rolle in der vernetzten Mobilität und bei den Planern.



Die Experten von M-Five haben in der Vergangenheit ihre Kompetenzen in der vernetzten Mobilität in zahlreichen Studien z.B. zu nachhaltigem Verkehr in Deutschland (VIVER), zur Zukunft der Automobilindustrie und zu ökonomischen Aspekten nachhaltiger Mobilität unter Beweis gestellt und dort auch den Begriff des Fifth-Mode mitgeprägt. Dabei verknüpfen sie fundierte Expertise zu Mobilitätsverhalten und Verkehrspolitik mit Industriekompetenz in der Automobilindustrie und bei anderen Mobilitätsindustrien und unterstützen bei der Gestaltung neuer zukunftsfähiger Geschäftsmodelle der vernetzten Mobilität.